MPC X, MPC Live, MPC One & MPC Key 61 Forum: Support and discussion for the MPC X, MPC Live, MPC Live II, MPC One & MPC Key 61; Akai's current generation of standalone MPCs.
By nobuo Sun Apr 25, 2021 6:27 pm
Hello.

I know nothing of MPC's and I'm a rookie when it comes to audioproduction in general.

Current Gear
I have 4 old roland sound-modules. They have (atleast one) MIDI-IN, MIDI-OUT, AUDIO-IN, AUDIO-OUT.
At the moment I have no way of controlling or recording them. I lent a midi-controller from a friend so I know how to get sound out. My friend said that I'd need interface and a DAW, but personally I want to get far from computers (as I watch them ~8h/day).

So I was thinking, could these legacy devices be connected to MPCX.
MPCX would send midi to the devices and receive audio back? then I could sample that? or just play them?
I see that MPCX has 4 audio in ports, but 1 & 2 are for microphone?

I'd also like to try the CV-gates. If I get MPCX and Arturia Microbrute 2 (that has patchbay to play with). Could I send data with CV and then sample the resulting audio in MPCX?

I'd love to try making some Jungle / D'n'B / 90's House. Many youtube videos are hiphop and I'm not sure if this is the device I want/need.

Sorry for the bad english and dum questions.
But the device is rather expensive and I'm confused. :hmmm:
By Lampdog Sun Apr 25, 2021 7:54 pm
MPC Live and MPC One are cheaper, same operating system with a few tweak because of available buttons/knobs.

X, 4 inputs but only 2 at a time to rec in. 2 are switchable from line in (roland audio out) to phono (turntable).

Midi is not audio. Midi is signal data, it tells the machine what to play. Every machine will need to connect audio to something in order to hear it.

MPC’s can midi control all you roland gear and play it on the pads. Get a mixer.
All roland audio into your mixer.
Mixer 2chnl main out to MPC X 2chnl line in.

You can make stuff other than hiphop on mpc’s, Your production, your choice.