MPC X, MPC Live, MPC One & MPC Key 61 Forum: Support and discussion for the MPC X, MPC Live, MPC Live II, MPC One & MPC Key 61; Akai's current generation of standalone MPCs.
By mpsea Thu Jun 10, 2021 8:55 pm
Hi,

I'm new to the MPC concept and have found conflicting information regarding the 8 audio track limitation of the latest MPCs. I'm trying to find an answer before I purchase an MPC Live II.

If I wanted to created a set for live performance with 16 backing tracks (WAVs) — would this be possible if I placed each WAV into a separate sequence and only one audio track was playing at a time?

I can't figure out if the 8 audio track limitation is for how many tracks can be played simultaneously, or if it's a hard overall limit per project.

This has been driving me crazy. Thank you for any help or advice!
By Lampdog Thu Jun 10, 2021 9:46 pm
It doesn't mention a hard limit. Remember the mpc is not a dedicated time based recorder, memory is dynamic, everything uses memory as workspace, you may run into polyphony issues before using up memory though.
By mpsea Thu Jun 10, 2021 9:53 pm
Lampdog wrote:Tells you what's what..

Thanks! I did read that part of the manual, but I'm still confused.

From the manual:
"A sequence on your MPC hardware can contain 128 MIDI tracks and 8 audio tracks."

This part that confuses me is that the manual says a 'sequence' can contain 8 audio tracks.

Does that mean that a second sequence can contain 8 different audio tracks? Meaning I can have 16 audio tracks in my project, but each sequence can only use 8 at a time?

Apologies if I'm not making sense. :(
By mpsea Thu Jun 10, 2021 10:27 pm
Lampdog wrote:A sequence = 1 sequence is how I read it.
A diff sequence can have 8 more audio tracks is how I read it.

That's what I'm hoping! If anyone can confirm this I'd really appreciate it!

I'm hoping that I can have, for example, 16 tracks available that can be used between 2 or more sequences.