MPC X, MPC Live, MPC One & MPC Key 61 Forum: Support and discussion for the MPC X, MPC Live, MPC Live II, MPC One & MPC Key 61; Akai's current generation of standalone MPCs.
By nori Tue Aug 24, 2021 8:58 pm
Hi,

I am new to the MPC One world and am really enjoying it, especially the previews for drum/instrument kits!

I was wondering if anyone has come across any app/method/tips on how to batch make previews for drums/instruments that are missing previews? I know it can be done manually but I was hoping to find something that would accept a midi file and then cycle through all the instruments to generate an mp3 or wav file preview.

I ended up getting kit-maker and preview-maker to convert my Maschine expansions and various other sample banks that are missing previews and doing it manually seems like a daunting task.

If anyone is interested, I can share my GNU Octave/Matlab script that extracts the missing previews from the maschine expansions after kit-maker conversion. The only caveat is that kit-maker renames the kits so there is a small amount of manual work to rename some previews to match the kits (approx 10% need fixing).

Thanks!
By T-Monk Tue Aug 24, 2021 11:20 pm
Subbing to this thread. I was just thinking this as I made a bunch of preview files yesterday. Unfortunately you can’t save to the [Previews] folder in standalone, so there’s extra work to do previews in standalone.

In theory you could dial in a sequence and copy it to a bunch of tracks. Then load different programs to the different tracks. Then you could export individual tracks in bulk (stems) to get a bunch of audio files in one go. You’ll need to bulk rename the and save them to the [Previews] folder.

This is just an untested theory, but maybe you can make a few templates with either drums, bass, chords or lead sequences, then load a bunch of programs in one go.
By MPC-Tutor Wed Aug 25, 2021 8:16 am