MPC X, MPC Live, MPC One & MPC Key 61 Forum: Support and discussion for the MPC X, MPC Live, MPC Live II, MPC One & MPC Key 61; Akai's current generation of standalone MPCs.
By Empeesee Tue Oct 26, 2021 11:40 am
Hey all.

I’m late to the party. Search was overwhelmingly full of garbage from here to Timbuktu?

I want to instal a internal drive in my LIVE but I’m a musician not a tech guru? Like I don’t even know what to look for at the shop that sells hard drives? I purchased a 1 tb ssd portable and have been successfully using it but I’d like to put a drive inside also. I’m thinking at least a tb.
Can someone kind enough tell me in simple terms what specs I should be aiming for? And also detail what the drive would have written on the box ( like how do I know it’s a plug in drive and not a portable or other drive not capable of plugging into my LIVE?

Thank you.
By 40Beatz Tue Oct 26, 2021 1:26 pm
Go Ahead and throw a Standard 1TB HDD or SSD in it. If you need More Space, Throw a 2TB Drive in it.

Me Personally I have a 1TB in all my MPCs, and i still use Multiple SD Cards for Extra Back up. 2TB seems too much...especially if the Drive Takes a Sh*t. I'd be sick to lose 2TBs of Data :lol:
By KaoticShock Tue Oct 26, 2021 10:01 pm
Monotremata wrote:Yeah I have a Kingston 500GB in mine. Works flawless as it should. 1TB is probably overkill unless you're doing some serious full length tracking with the MPC or have a really gnarly sample library.

I have a 1TB Western Digital Blue SSD for the really gnarly sample library. :lol: Plus 256GB SD Card for projects, programs, and Expansions.

512GB SSD should be fine for most general applications. Also I used a 64 GB SD card for 4 years before needing to upgrade. Just make sure you get an internal SSD, not External.
By EnochLight Thu Oct 28, 2021 12:40 am
Empeesee wrote:Hey all.

I’m late to the party. Search was overwhelmingly full of garbage from here to Timbuktu?