Akai Force Forum: Everything relating to the Akai Force, the new 64 pad, clip-based standalone sampler/groovebox from Akai. While not an MPC, it shares many similar software features to the MPC X/MPC Live including the same underlying code-base.
By pmodzele Thu Nov 25, 2021 11:58 am
Hi,

I'm brand new to to all of this so I apologize for the newbie question. I have a Roland Fantom X8 and I'm trying to connect it to the Force to record my music.

What's the best way to connect it, using the audio output or using MIDI?
Can I connect my keyboard to the Force and then connect the Force to my amp and have the sound pass through even when I'm not recording a clip?

Thanks for your help!
By Koekepan Thu Nov 25, 2021 6:35 pm
Newbie questions are welcome, don't sweat it.

The correct answer to your question largely depends on what your goals are. But it is quite possible to connect the Force's MIDI to the Fantom's, and also send audio from the Fantom through the Force at the same time.

You can definitely connect the Fantom to the Force, and the Force to your amp. The way to do this is to create an Audio track, which takes the audio input ports as its source. This then goes through the Force's internal virtual mixer, and you can do whatever you want with it, pretty much.

So, in short: game on! (I'm not terribly familiar with the Fantom's USB function, so I don't think that it will do USB MIDI. For your scenario, this doesn't sound like a problem.)
By pmodzele Fri Nov 26, 2021 5:03 am
Thanks for the reply, I appreciate it.

In regards to recording using both audio and MIDI, is it possible to record the sounds and MIDI data so the it shows up on the Force the same way it does on my Fantom? Meaning I can easily edit and move notes around later if I need to?

Thanks again.
By Koekepan Fri Nov 26, 2021 3:50 pm
The easiest way of doing what you're describing is to sequence the Fantom from the Force.

Here's the simple version: