Akai Force Forum: Everything relating to the Akai Force, the new 64 pad, clip-based standalone sampler/groovebox from Akai. While not an MPC, it shares many similar software features to the MPC X/MPC Live including the same underlying code-base.
By djspchless Thu Dec 21, 2023 11:08 pm
Hi everyone, I'm rather new to the Force and running firmware 3.3.0. I purchased it mainly to sequence external synths, drum machines, etc. but I can't seem to find something in the manual referencing this behavior:

Create midi track > edit track (displays ccs) > play Force pads while turning any cc knob > playing different notes on the Force's keyboard while turning a knob resets its value. I found that using an external keyboard plugged into midi in/usb to the force does not reset the knob value when playing different notes.

It's rather difficult to explain so I uploaded a video demonstrating. Any information is welcome.

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/ubUmcd0JcGw
By B-Wise Fri Dec 22, 2023 2:46 pm
Did you use MIDI-Learn to assign those MIDI parameters?
If so, try assigning it using the tedious menu window way. I think there's a MIDI-Learn bug.

Something similar was happening to me months ago, but I don't know if playing the the Force pads reset the values, in my case turn a knob set by M-L would change the value, but then turning another knob & turning the M-L knob again would reset the value. Knobs that weren't set with M-L worked fine after turning another knob.

But who the Hell want to use the menu window to setup all them macros?

It makes the cool M-L feature useless. I just made 1 MIDI macro the slow way, made copies & renamed the knob how I wanted. I'll check to see if that's still the case in OS-330. I forgot all about that crap until this post.
Do you send a ticket to Akai? I made a post with the link, but here you go;
https://support.akaipro.com/en/support/tickets/new
By HouseWithoutMouse Fri Dec 22, 2023 8:12 pm