Discuss the various methods you use in music production, from compressor settings to equipment type.
By Tristan Roger Fri Jan 08, 2016 3:57 pm
Hello every one, happy new year ! I am a small producer from France.

I work for a year with Ableton, i try different production techniques and finally i bought an MPC 2500 three weeks ago. I read the manual and I learn every day a little more on the MPC. My goal is to make house and techno music.

For those who do not know let me introduce the producer who gave me desire to produce an MPC with MR ... G!
He comes from England and the particularity of its tracks is very energetic, very danceable and very "simple"! The guy that focuses on the groove!

Here are some tracks:

Live:

Most of his tracks are similar:
- Kicks
- Hi Hats (many)
- Big open ride
- Claps
- 1 bass
- 1 loop

That's all ! So I want to open the discution on how to approach his production workflow with the mpc ?

This is my actual stuff :
- 1 mpc 2500
- 1 Roland Jupiter-50
- 1 Mackie 1402VLZ4, 14-channel
- 1 Stanton SMX-501
- 1 Platine d'écoute Akaï AP-B20

I have read several articles about it, he used an MPC 200XL, a midi keyboard, and some compressors.
http://www.residentadvisor.net/feature.aspx?1888

Sorry for my english, i hope you understand me :)
By terry towelling Tue Jan 12, 2016 12:14 am
hah, i haven't thought about mr g for years...i have a pile of advent records and the first few g-flame/mr g records....he's made some really banging stuff.

i read that resident advisor interview....he mentions that he uses only eight tracks and resamples a lot. his tracks are pretty much just drums and bass, with very little or no melody. so i think you need to really work on gettng those drum sounds and bass sounds really good and making them sound unique. lots of layering of samples and resampling with eq, effects etc. maybe use a tape deck to get tape saturation/compression rather than buying a dedicated compressor.