Discuss the various methods you use in music production, from compressor settings to equipment type.
By platfus118 Sat Mar 23, 2019 3:30 pm
Hey!
I got an MPC2500 (jjosxl), SP404sx, SP303, OP-1 that I use each one individually, mostly within Ableton Live.
I want to make the MPC2500 more of a DAWless studio-center (I'll move the stems to Ableton for further mixing and arranging)

I'm having trouble with using them all together. Routing them so it's intuitive and convenient,
even the most basic things. I connect my MPC2500 to the ins of the SP303 and from the SP303 to my interface > monitors. I'm really new to MPCs and I don't really know how to record audio while the drum beat is playing.
Also, I don't think I want THE ENTIRE beat to go through the SP303 vinyl sim, maybe only the drum tracks or individual hits / synth tracks. What is the easiest way to bounce to SP303 and from SP303 back to the MPC? What is your workflow?

I'm sorry if I'm incoherent,
thanks!
By mr_debauch Mon Mar 25, 2019 3:15 am
well, to go to and back from the 303, maybe you need to solo the thing you want to add vinyl sim to.. record into the 303, disconnect and sample back into the 2500.

OR, solo the thing you want to add vinyl sim to, record to a pad in the 303... then mute those things in the 2500, and unmute the rest... record to another pad in the 303 without vinyl sim. Then adjust the starts of both to play at the same time.... or don't even record that second bit without vinyl sim, just leave the first part muted in the 2500 and play the rest through the line in, and sequence the newly recorded bit from the 303 via midi.

So, let's say drums we want vinyl sim, main sample we want reverb or delay or something also in the 303 but not vinyl sim.. bass we want to filter with isolator, and in the 2500 there is a bunch of other samples to get triggered but they don't need fx from the 303.

1) record drums soloed into the 303 on a pad with vinyl sim..