Discuss the various methods you use in music production, from compressor settings to equipment type.
By Yentz Sun Mar 29, 2020 4:18 pm
Hi,
I am new to the mpc and wonder what is the best way to make songs with it. I mainly want to produce breakbeat and jungle. Within the mpc i would like to do a basic arrangement and the bounce the single tracks record my hardware into live for mixing and some finetuning.
I know that scenes are intended to act as different parts of the song (chorus, bridge etc.)
Now the first thing I am wondering abiut is how to "arrange" the tracks within a scene.
As I tend to start building a beat quite simple, copy it and refine etc I usually have like 10 or 15 scenes in live that hold an advanced form of the beat of the scene within.
I would probably do all single drums in one track and have a couple of tracks more to hold breaks that are playing underneath. The breaks are progressing as well so I end up having a lot of different versions.
I think a new scene for every change is way too much. As I can have 128 tracks within a scene I was thinking to maybe unse the first 16 trackslots just for tracks on one program the next 16 slots for the next programm etc so I could habe 16 variations. Unfortunately are the tracks in the tracks mute window arranged different to the mixer window. Not sure if it is worth putti g in some dummy tracks so each program has its own 16 grid where just one instance is used. How are you doing this?
Also I thought if I program small variations into the tracks individually or if it is better to have a seperate sequence holding the variations and switching the the variation sequence ever 16 bars for 1/16 or how long the variation goes an back to the other sequence afterwards. It sounds a bit complicated but as I dont want the variations to be the same allthe time but chamging them .eans changing all tracks for each variation maybe this is a more easy way to go ahead?