Discuss the various methods you use in music production, from compressor settings to equipment type.
By Acidizer Fri Feb 12, 2021 1:34 pm
I have loops from splice, specifically labelled as "loops" but when I put them on the sequencer at their stated BPM it can feel abrupt when they come round again.

I am a sample noob, but some "release" could solve this but that is not available it seems (like you can add release to samples on Nord keyboards)

Any ideas?
By Acidizer Fri Feb 12, 2021 2:33 pm
NearTao wrote:Do you know if the loop is completing, or is it starting over again before it completes?

Some of them complete, some don't. i.e. maybe I will cut a 8 bar loop down to 4. I have done this and it actually looped not bad, where as other loops I have completed their whole cycle and just sound abrupt when they retrigger.

Probably the loops weren't made ideal for looping in the first place?

Is there any tricks to mask this?
By NearTao Fri Feb 12, 2021 2:44 pm
So... I wonder... are you dropping the loops into drum kits, key groups, using the looper, or clip mode?

It sounds like you probably need to work with warping, or adjusting your BPM... or both... but hard to tell how you're setting things up.
By Scrawny Fri Feb 12, 2021 4:20 pm
Too much attack or release will make it loop even worse in my experience.
Experiment more with BPM. Even if you have an accurate tempo readout the song wasn't made to loop there so you will need to adjust it for it to loop better.
I actually just heard a really nice sound maybe 30 min before seeing this but it wasn't going to sound good looped so I didn't bother messing with it. Sometimes that's the case.
Which MPC do you have?
Just experiment. Some loops will work better on mono and cancel itself out or they might sound better if you let it overlap a little bit and just add some decay on it.
Also make sure you're not chopping too tight or too loose.
By Ajax Fri Feb 12, 2021 11:20 pm