Showcase your own beats and get constructive feedback from fellow MPC producers
By whoohaaah Sat Oct 20, 2018 1:03 am
Hey all, here's a beat I made.
First time in years

I've been a hobby producer, but recently been getting more into it. Been on YouTube and on forums trying to get knowledge down on music production. Still have a long way to go, and I'd welcome any constructive criticism/feedback.

Thanks fam.

Btw I'm going for hip-hop and boom bap, and some lo-fi sound; as well as a little bit of house thrown in.
By Lampdog Wed Oct 31, 2018 4:14 pm
I fixed your links.
By Lampdog Wed Oct 31, 2018 4:33 pm
whoohaaah wrote:Hey all, here's a beat I made.
First time in years

Kik and snare sound clean and crisp. Hihat sounds more lo fi but works.
Bassline needs some creativity.
Vocal samples are nice and clean, could use some creative patterning.

By Lampdog Wed Oct 31, 2018 4:37 pm
whoohaaah wrote:Here's another:

Constructive criticism welcome.

First thing to hit me was the bassline, it caused ear fatigue immediately.
It was such that I stopped listening even though I tried to objectively listen to the rest.
Maybe bring in that heavy of a bassline sparringly and not constantly.
By Cockdiesel Thu Nov 01, 2018 12:29 am

I liked this one better than the first. I’ll agree about the first one and the bass, I fall victim to it too, that’s it’s just a bit much.

Sucks when I vibe out to shit I always turn the bass up way to loud, then turning compressors or limiters on and messing the whole track up.

I think you have a great sound, just maybe work on the mixing and changing things up some with patterns and samples.

On both the tracks the drums sounded good, nice programming too. I dig the style.
By whoohaaah Thu Nov 01, 2018 8:59 pm
Cockdiesel wrote:

I liked this one better than the first. I’ll agree about the first one and the bass, I fall victim to it too, that’s it’s just a bit much.