Exchange tips and tricks for the Akai MPC4000
By richard Thu Oct 07, 2004 12:10 pm
If I load a project the 4k always load its bulshit blank default multi and selects that instead of the one i want to use. Why does it do this? Funny thing is sometimes it doesn't do it... Can i stop it creating this extra multi? Or do I just have to call my multi number 1 to make sure its selected?

Richard
By deaf-mute Thu Oct 07, 2004 3:36 pm
richard wrote:If I load a project the 4k always load its **** blank default multi and selects that instead of the one i want to use. Why does it do this? Funny thing is sometimes it doesn't do it... Can i stop it creating this extra multi? Or do I just have to call my multi number 1 to make sure its selected?

Richard


the only workaround is to create a folder called autoload in your hd... anything you put in that folder will automatically load to the first slots...

I sometimes put my latest version of a track in there and then it loads up when I switch on the machine. then once I'm happy with the track I'll delete it in the autoload and save it in it's own folder.

peace

By renegadebliss Thu Oct 07, 2004 5:15 pm
Yes.. the Autoload folder is the way to go. As Deaf-Mute said, you can put
the track that you're working on in there. Also, what I tend to do, is save a
"template" in their that I like to start off with. It has my default Drum Programs
A Multi, and a Sequence. The Sequence is already setup, so that Track 1
access' my SE ATC-1, Track 2 my MKS-50, Track 3 my Syntecno TeeBee,
Track 4 my RackAttack and so forth, so when I'm ready to create a song,
I turn on the MPC, it loads
up the Autloload folder and whala, I"m ready to create, with out messing around
setting things up. This is a nice reason to have the MPC. Turn it on, and in a
minute or so (depends on how many drum programs), I'm already creating.
By Sean W Thu Oct 07, 2004 9:33 pm
richard wrote:Can i stop it creating this extra multi?
In GLOBAL / GLOBAL [F1], turn "Default Items" OFF.

Of course, if you have saved your memory to a Folder while "Multi 1" was present in the memory, it will still be loaded with the folder.
In this case, the only way it to delete Multi 1 from the older.

Sean
By deaf-mute Thu Oct 07, 2004 9:36 pm
Sean W wrote:
richard wrote:Can i stop it creating this extra multi?
In GLOBAL / GLOBAL [F1], turn "Default Items" OFF.

Of course, if you have saved your memory to a Folder while "Multi 1" was present in the memory, it will still be loaded with the folder.
In this case, the only way it to delete Multi 1 from the older.

Sean


I shouldn't have said 'the only work around'... thanks shawn, should have spotted that one.... you live you learn....

peace