Reviews and questions about the entry-level MPC500
User avatar
By BLiTzZD Sun Dec 06, 2009 1:49 am
This is kind of annoying me so I turned here after days of not being able to figure it out.

I originaly saved a project with X amount of samples on it.

As I move forward in the project I find I dont want the first 6 anymore, so I delete associated tracks & deselect those samples in Program Mode from each pad. I then deleted those samples from the project file I was currently in. Cool.

So now I want to re-save my new project with those samples gone. I "save entire memory" project under a new file, and new project name in that new file.

As I watch it saved as I tend to do, I notice it resaved those samples I deleted. This is pizzn me off a bit because its eating up my memory etc..

What am I doing wrong?
User avatar
By robthom Sun Dec 06, 2009 6:42 pm
I would scroll through your samples in the editing screen and make sure they're deleted manually. And then make sure your not saving in a folder that already contains copies of the samples.
Saving to autoload will "tape over" whatever is in it. But saving to project folders just tapes over things labeled the same and leaves everything else in the folder to get reloaded next time. Kind of a pain, I usually manually delete everything in the project folder before resaving into it if I've made a lot of changes. Or like you said create a new folder.

I also suggest resorting your CF every so often with "drive sort". I've noticed rampant general wonkiness including strange saving behavior when my CF hasn't been resorted for a long time. That is a utility that really, REALLY should be included in the OS.