Exchange tips and tricks for the Akai MPC4000
User avatar
By Freedom Thu Dec 23, 2004 10:34 pm
What up just letting you know that I have goten a fatal error 4 times when doing this same exact thing....

It includes burning a cd.....
And using the usb...
AT ANYTIME WHILE BURNING A CD or SAVING DO NOT PLUG OR UNPLUG YOUR USB CABLE....
It will cause your mpc to crash and your burnt cd to be lost.....
I have the newest os...
And I am using a mac g4...
The problem also seems to affect my Mac a little bit at the same time...
When the MPC crashes the mac then searches for the usb sofware and ends up crashin in a little bit....

Just letting all the People know that if you have worked for 1 hr to 11 hours...
SAVE YOUR WORK..
But be carefull when saving or burning... And messing wit the usb ....
I cant stress this enough...

If any of the akai people see this please look into this..
it happens to me alot cause I have a usb hub... in which I have to change a few things ever time I work in the studio..
And I switch out the usbs to work on a song on a keyboard while it burns just doing that will hurt you..
So look out
Aight
User avatar

By ikke Fri Dec 24, 2004 12:44 am
Dude.. :roll: Its not recommended in general to plug and unplug an USB cable while the (M)PC is on. 8) Well.. you can plug it in, but you cant plug it out while the machine is on.
User avatar

By Freedom Fri Dec 24, 2004 3:00 am
Yes I know very tru...
the fact of the matter it the the reason I cant have the usb plugged in all the time is the basic fact that it creates a 60 hz ground loop that is not coming from my house...
This is one of the most annoying things to me b/cI have had all the electricity and plugs ripped out of my house and rewird up and found all the loops...
who knows..
Its just very annoying to have a loud 60 hz loop in the backround and when put through my ln 1776 limiter its worse.
So I leave it unplugged at all times..when nessecary..
Plus you cant blame people for being alittle tired after an 11 hour session and wanting to pull the usb cable out when done..
Just a warning.