New to the MPC production world? Got a music production question that's not really specific to any particular MPC? Try your luck here and get help from our experienced members.
By WestHamVillain Tue May 06, 2025 7:06 pm
Hello!

First time caller, short time lurker.

I've recently purchased an Akai MPC Live II used (and MPC Bible 3) and it came with some project files that I have since erased. I have also seen a directory on the Internal drive called Splice, which I'm assuming belonged to the previous owner. There are an incredible number of files in there and deleting manually would take some time. Is there any way I can just blow away anything on the internal drive that isn't part of the device software/settings?

Looking forward to getting started (lifetime musician, but this is my first foray into MPC)!
User avatar
By Lampdog Tue May 06, 2025 10:21 pm
Right off the bat I'll say THIS IS DANGEROUS THINKING.
Entire OS and firmware are on that internal drive. Be very careful or you could be looking at
reimaging the entire drive.

This isn't the older MPC's where you could just delete everything and start over.
Those OS's were on motherboard chips. This aint that.
User avatar
By Lampdog Wed May 07, 2025 12:49 am
It's not dangerous to go through the MPC Bible, not at all, but I'm hoping you can distinguish exactly what files may have belonged to the previous user vs required OS files/folders.
By 40Beatz Wed Jun 04, 2025 6:46 pm
Just leave the Internal Drive Alone. It will NOT Improve performance. It will only soothe OCD Tendencies lol. Save all your projects on External Medias
User avatar
By Ultros Mon Jun 09, 2025 1:03 pm
The actual operating system itself resides on a totally seperate partition. You cannot erase the operating system from the file browser it doesn't have access to the rootfs, and the rootfs is set to read only to keep files integrity in tact if a user such as dustyslices were to symlink it to his content partition.

the problem people have with erasing the content partition is a result of using the "format" option in the browser on their content partition. the operating system, while mounting drives looks for a specific "UUID" (unique id) and mounts the content partition according to that UUID. When users use the "format" function it seems to not set the unique UUID needed on the partition, so when they reboot the operating system cannot find the content partition by uuid and seemingly goes into a bootloop.

It is safe however to simply delete anything you want with the proper "delete" function from the browser provided you dont use format and destroy the uniq id of the content partition. Select the projects folder, hold shift press delete. no problem.

here is a list of the partitions on the emmc to better understand the internal disk structure.

Code: Select allmmcblk1p1 uboot-spl       //DO NOT TOUCH THIS
mmcblk1p2 env             //DO NOT TOUCH THIS
mmcblk1p3 uboot           //DO NOT TOUCH THIS
mmcblk1p4 splash          //the splash image that shows up when your power on normally
mmcblk1p5 recoverysplash  //the splash image that shows up in dfu
mmcblk1p6 rootfs          //linux root
mmcblk1p7 content       //acvs-content / az-internal-sd (expansions/projects)
mmcblk1p8 data            //az01-internal (software cache partition)